Missouri law states that anyone driving with a blood alcohol level of 0.08% or higher is under the influence of alcohol. Blood alcohol levels that reach 0.15% result in greater penalties. The police may also charge anyone under the age of 21 with a level of 0.02%.
Missouri’s DUI penalties vary based on the severity and number of the individual’s DUI offenses. This is what you should know.
The State of Missouri typically treats the first and second DUI charges as a misdemeanor. However, the second offense carries harsher penalties. For example, the first offense may result in fines of up to $1,000 and a jail sentence of up to six months. However, someone convicted of a second DUI may pay up to $2,000 and 48 hours to one year in jail. These offenders may also receive probation after their release from jail. The offender will also receive a license suspension for up to 90 days and one to five years for the first and second offenses, respectively. These individuals may also have their licenses restricted after their restoration, and most result in locked ignitions for six months or more.
The third DUI conviction is a felony. Those convicted receive up to four years in prison and $10,000 in fines. They also lose their licenses for up to 10 years and have locked ignitions for at least six months.
When pulled over, drivers can refuse field sobriety tests, but they will likely lose their licenses for up to one year. They also need to submit to a breath or biological test, such as blood, saliva or urine, if they reach the police department.
Judges may also order those convicted of DUIs to undergo alcohol treatment, especially if they have high blood alcohol levels.